Reiki Titles

What Do All Those Reiki Titles Mean Anyway?

I’m sure you’ve noticed that most Reiki practitioners, myself included, will have a bunch of titles following their name. Well, let’s start with a brief history. Reiki is an energy healing technique that was created by a Japanese born Buddhist monk named Mikao Usui; Following his death in 1926, Dr. Chujiro Hayashi, one of his former pupils started his own Reiki practice he healed a sick Mrs. Hawayo Takata a Hawaiian born woman of Japanese descent who was having health problems at the time and decided to travel to Japan for healing since nothing seemed to be working for her back home, She was very impressed with what she experienced and became one of his students; both were instrumental in bringing Reiki to the west. By the time of her death in 1980, she had initiated twenty-two, Reiki Masters.

When you see First Degree Reiki listed in a person’s credentials, it means that they have started the first step in their Reiki training. (First degree and second degree are taught together.) They are taught about the history of Reiki and how it works. The second thing that will happen is an attunement, which means they’ll be connected to the Reiki life force; from now on, they’ll be able to channel it through themselves. From here, they will be able to perform Reiki on themselves and others. Even though at this stage, you can send Reiki to others, the primary purpose is to heal yourself. If you’re going to channel universal energy into someone else, you want to be as clear of a conduit as possible. The second degree of Reiki is a deepening of the universal energies; also, the heart chakra is opened. The emphasis is on becoming a practitioner. A waiting period of six months to a year is recommended before moving on to the third degree.

When you see Reiki Master, it means they have reached level three or third degree. This means that they are a teacher now and can give attunements. They have completed teacher’s level training and can pass it on to others.

Reiki Grand Master means they have committed themselves to learning more. Master doesn’t mean better than or more important then, it is just another way of saying teacher. And the Grand part means they’ve decided to expand their knowledge some more. There are 15 levels, labeled five to twenty, each dealing with a different area of the energy body to be cleared so that they can channel the energy more clearly.

Usui Holy Fire is a new form of Reiki; It’s a deeper understanding of the divine universal energy, some of the benefits is that it works continuously to heal issues, bringing outdated patterns to light and eliminating them, development of healthy personality traits, and reduces stress.

Life Force Energy Healer is another form of energy healing that involves Chakras, sound therapy, and (Energy) Chelation. It is a different form of energy healing than Reiki. The main thing to take away from this is that trauma leads to blocked energy, and when your energy is stuck, so is your life; your health suffers, and you can forget about living that dream life. This system was developed by Deborah King, a lawyer (at the time) who developed cervical cancer at 25. She came to the conclusion that her cancer was the result of unhealed childhood trauma. She set out on a course of healing, which included a 12-step program to kick her addictions to alcohol and prescription drugs. She started meditating, getting in touch with her feelings, which had long been buried, acupuncture, massage, and energy healing. All of this resulted in a

remission of her cancer. She has taken all that she has learned in her 30 years and created this method.

This is by no means a complete list; there are several different kinds of Reiki out there, but they all at their core deal with channeling energy for healing.

Love & Light

Stacy Imbasciani


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: